NC Literary Hall of Fame




COLUMBIA, SC—Kathryn Stripling Byer has won the 2013 Southern Independent Booksellers Association Award for her poetry collection, Descent (LSU Press, 2012).

Byer, a 2012 inductee to the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame, serves on the North Carolina Writers' Network Board of Trustees and will lead the three-day poetry workshop at the upcoming Squire Summer Writing Residency in Cullowhee.

She was North Carolina’s first woman Poet Laureate and has published six full-length collections of poetry. A re-print of her first, the AWP Award-winning The Girl in the Midst of the Harvest, is forthcoming from Press 53. Her work has appeared in many journals and newspapers, including The Atlantic, Hudson Review, Boston Globe, and Georgia Review.

The SIBA Awards celebrate the best in Southern literature, from the people who would know...Southern Independent (and independently-minded!) Booksellers.

Each year, hundreds of booksellers across the South vote on their favorite "handsell" books of the year. These are the "Southern" books they have most enjoyed selling to customers; the ones that they couldn't stop talking about. The SIBA Book Award was created to recognize great books of southern origin.

Books are nominated in several categories, and North Carolina was well-represented. Tar Heel native Wiley Cash won the Fiction category for his debut novel, A Land More Kind Than Home. Farmville resident Sheila Turnage won the Young Adult cateogry for her book, Three Times Lucky. And Jay Erskine Leutze was named the Nonfiction Winner for his book, Stand Up That Mountain.

SIBA is a trade association which represents over 300 bookstores and thousands of booksellers in Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia and Mississippi. The Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance exists to empower, promote, and celebrate their core member bookstores in a spirit of partnership.

Joomla Template: from JoomlaShack