White Cross School Blog






The North Carolina Writers' Network is now accepting submissions for the 2013 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize. This annual award is administered by poet Anthony S. Abbott, the Charles A. Dana Professor Emeritus of English at Davidson College in Davidson, NC.

The Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize honors internationally celebrated North Carolina novelist Thomas Wolfe. The winner receives $1,000 and possible publication in The Thomas Wolfe Review. The competition is open to all writers regardless of geographical location or prior publication. The postmark deadline is January 30, 2013.

Ruth Moose will be the Final Judge. Moose served on the faculty of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Creative Writing Department from 1996-2010. She has published two collections of short stories, including Neighbors and Other Strangers (Main Street Rag), and four books of poetry. Individual stories have appeared in Atlantic, Redbook, Alaska Quarterly Review, North American Review, and other places. Her work has been included in several anthologies, including Stories about Teachers and Teaching. Her poems have appeared in The Nation, Prairie Schooner, Yankee, Christian Science Monitor, and other places. Recently, she was awarded a Chapman Fellowship to compile a work on North Carolina writers.

The 2013 guidelines are as follows:

Postmark deadline: January 30 (annual)
Submissions accepted: December 1 – January 30

  • The competition is open to all writers regardless of geographical location or prior publication.
  • Submit two copies of an unpublished fiction manuscript not to exceed 12 double-spaced pages (1" margins, 12-pt. font).
  • Author's name should not appear on manuscripts. Instead, include a separate cover sheet with name, address, phone number, e-mail address, word count, and manuscript title.
  • An entry fee must accompany the manuscript: $15 for NCWN members, $25 for nonmembers. Checks should be made payable to the North Carolina Writers' Network.
  • You may pay the member entry fee if you join the NCWN with your submission. Checks should be made payable to the North Carolina Writers’ Network.
  • Entries will not be returned.
  • The winner is announced each April.
  • Send submission to:

Professor Tony Abbott
PO Box 7096
Davidson College
Davidson, NC 28035

Laurel Ferejohn of Durham, NC, won the 2012 Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize for her story, "That Other Story." Elizabeth Brownrigg, Kathryn Shaver, and Kermit Turner received Honorable Mentions.

The nonprofit North Carolina Writers’ Network is the state’s oldest and largest literary arts services organization devoted to writers at all stages of development. For additional information, visit www.ncwriters.org.

Joomla Template: from JoomlaShack