NC Literary Hall of Fame





Anne Clinard BarnhillNORTH CAROLINA--The North Carolina Writers’ Network is still accepting submissions for its annual Rose Post Creative Nonfiction Competition and its annual Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize. Deadlines are January 16 and January 30, respectively.

The Rose Post Creative Nonfiction Competition encourages the creation of lasting nonfiction work that is outside the realm of conventional journalism and has relevance to North Carolinians. Subjects may include traditional categories such as reviews, travel articles, profiles or interviews, place/history pieces, or culture criticism. The first-, second-, and third-place winners will receive $300, $200, and $100 respectively. The winning entry will be considered for publication by Southern Cultures magazine. This contest is administered by the creative writing program at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

The Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize honors internationally celebrated North Carolina novelist Thomas Wolfe. The winner receives $1,000 and possible publication in The Thomas Wolfe Review. The competition is open to all writers regardless of geographical location or prior publication. This prize is administered by poet Anthony S. Abbott, the Charles A. Dana Professor Emeritus of English at Davidson College in Davidson, NC.

Josephine HumphreysAnne Clinard Barnhill (What You Long For) will serve as final judge for the Rose Post Nonfiction Competition. Josephine Humphreys (Dreams of Sleep) will judge the Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize.

For more information, including submission guidelines, to the Rose Post Creative Nonfiction Competition, click here. For more information on the Thomas Wolfe Fiction Prize, click here.

The nonprofit North Carolina Writers’ Network is the state’s oldest and largest literary arts services organization devoted to writers at all stages of development. For additional information, visit


Joomla Template: from JoomlaShack