White Cross School Blog

 

NC Literary Hall of Fame

 

 

The Bond by Robin Kirk

Goldenjay Books (Blue Crow Publishing)
$14.99, paperback / $4.99, e-book
ISBN: 978-1-947834316
December, 2018
Fiction: Sci-Fi / YA
Available from your local bookstore or www.Amazon.com

"Fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Never Let Me Go will devour The Bond."
—Lisa Williams Kline, award-winning author of One Week of You

"An adventure and a masterful exploration of what it means to be a human being."
—Constantine Singer, author of Strange Days

"A riveting, dark, post-apocalyptic romp that hooked me from its very first line. Set in a dark and unsettling world populated by cyborgs, genetically engineered humans, and mutants, at its core The Bond is a story of Dinitra, who must make an uneasy choice, her loyalty, bravery, and humanity tested in the process."
—Katya de Becerra, author of What the Woods Keep

Trust what you see, not what you're told.

In a society that has made males obsolete, a woman's gifts are carefully engineered by members of the Weave. Girls like Dinitra are engineered by Sowers and assigned their life purpose when they turn sixteen.

But sometimes, the Sowers get things wrong.

A resistance is growing, and the rebels are creating humans of their own—including males—and planning to topple the Weave in a war that could destroy them all. When Dinitra is assigned her purpose, she's sent far from home, to a colony where she uncovers the ugliest secrets of the Weave. Her loyalty is tested when she's captured by the rebels and develops a dangerous bond with a male warrior—a shameful crime that she may pay for with her life.

Fans of The Hunger Games and The Rule of One will delight in this heart-pounding adventure.

Robin Kirk is the author of The Bond, the first in a fantasy series by Blue Crow Publishing. Her short story, “Love is a Wild Creature,” is featured in Wicked South: Secrets and Lies: Stories for Young Adults, also by Blue Crow. She is an award-winning poet.

Kirk is a human rights advocate and serves as Faculty Co-Chair of the Duke Human Rights Center at the Franklin Humanities Institute and is a founding member of the Pauli Murray Project, an initiative of the center that seeks to use the legacy of this Durham daughter to examine the region’s past of slavery, segregation, and continuing economic inequality. As a senior researcher, Kirk authored, co-authored and edited over twelve reports for Human Rights Watch, all available online.

 
Joomla Templates: by JoomlaShack