NC Literary Hall of Fame












What Came Next by Sybil Austin Skakle

Westbow Press
$17.95, paperback / $3.99, e-book
ISBN: 978-4980-2781-0
April, 2014
Available from your local bookstore or

What Came Next is the story of a widow's loves and lives after the death of her husband of thirty-three years. She joins what is equivalent to the local online social groups of today and meets two men whom inhabit her story. She marries Sir Charles of New York, divorces him after seven years, and finally meets the other, Cowpoke, face-to-face in Kansas City, Missouri. He is dying. Family and involvement in a legal suit concerning family land are part of her story, as well. Her greatest struggle is with her own conscience, as she seeks to find her own peace without hurting either man or compromising her love of God and her desire to please him.

Sybil Austin Skakle, born January 10, 1926, in Hatteras, North Carolina, graduated from Hatteras High School in 1943 and from UNC-Chapel Hill in 1949 with a BS Pharmacy degree. Employed as a hospital pharmacist for twenty-three years, she retired in 1990 and began to write and publish books: 2001, Searchings, a book of poetry; 2002, Confessions of an Outer Banks Filly, stories of growing up on the Outer Banks of North Carolina; 2009, Valley of the Shadow, a journey through grief. Her latest is What Came Next, a memoir. A church school teacher and a volunteer for her church choir and a local non-profit entertainment group, she enjoys travel, music, reading, and people. Widowed, she lives in the same house where she raised three sons, beginning in 1958, with husband Don in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Joomla Template: by JoomlaShack