NC Literary Hall of Fame



The Hopwood Poets Revisited: Eighteen Major Award Winners by Donald Beagle

Library Partners Press
$20, paperback
ISBN: 978-1618460691
December, 2018
Available from your local bookstore or

Praise for Donald Beagle's What Must Arise:

"What Must Arise is worth the wait; an achievement both impressive and hugely enjoyable. Donald Beagle has the rare ability to involve the reader with the poem, revealing that things of which we haven't been aware deeply matter to us. This book will surely be among the outstanding titles of its year, if not, indeed, of its century."
—X. J. Kennedy, quoted from Against the Grain

The Hopwood Poets Revisited has been named winner of the 2018 Gail O'Day Award for Outstanding Achievement in Poetry.

Hopwood Award-winning poet Donald Beagle presents a series of Q&A conversations with his fellow award-winning poets spanning decades, including Robert Hayden, John Ciardi, Anne Stevenson, Frank O'Hara, Marge Piercy, Nancy Willard, Keith Waldrop, Rosmarie Waldrop, Tom Clark, X. J. Kennedy, Patricia Hooper, Lawrence Joseph, Jane Kenyon, Garrett Hongo, Laura Kasischke, Tung-Hui Hu, and Derek Mong. Donald Beagle is himself interviewed for this book by Barbara Tierney of the University of Central Florida.

Donald Beagle is the author of six books, including What Must Arise: Poems (LP Press, 2017); Poet of the Lost Cause (University of Tennessee Press, 2008); and The Information Commons Handbook (ALA / Neal-Schuman, 2006). He is the editor of Radcliffe Squires: Selected Poems 1950-1985 (LP Press, 2017). His awards include the Hopwood "Major Poetry" Award (1977), the John Brubaker Award (2011), two prize-winning poems in the annual Ekphrasis Contest (2013; 2017), and others.

Joomla Template: by JoomlaShack