White Cross School Blog


NC Literary Hall of Fame




Michael MaloneMore than three hundred writers, editors, and literary agents will gather in North Carolina’s largest city this November for the North Carolina Writers’ Network’s Twenty-fifth Annual Fall Conference.

The NCWN Fall Conference, first held in 1985, has grown into one of the nation’s largest conferences dedicated to the craft and business of writing. The conference is open to writers of all levels of experience.

“Naturally, we’re excited that our organization has reached this milestone,” said NCWN executive director Ed Southern. “We’re more excited, though, about what this milestone shows: writing in this state is still going strong, and North Carolina’s literary tradition remains vital and vibrant.”

The 2010 Fall Conference will feature a keynote address by novelist Michael Malone, a reading and discussion by North Carolina Poet Laureate Cathy Smith Bowers, and a presentation on Literary Trails of the North Carolina Piedmont by author Georgann Eubanks.

The conference will also offer more than twenty-five workshops and panel discussions for registrants, including three Master Classes for more advanced writers: a Poetry Master Class led by Bowers, a Creative Nonfiction Master Class with author Judy Goldman, and a Fiction Master Class with novelist Robert Inman.

Agents and editors will again participate in the conference’s Manuscript Mart and Critique Service, in which registrants have one-on-one sessions with publishing professionals who will discuss their manuscripts’ strengths and weaknesses.

“Our most important offering,” Southern said, “is the chance for writers to get to know one another, and trade advice, ideas, and encouragement. We have a number of writers who come to the conference year after year, first as registrants, and then—as their careers progress—as instructors.”

Course descriptions and registration information can be found here.

RALEIGH, NC—Registration is now open for the North Carolina Writers’ Network’s 2010 Squire Summer Writing Residency, to be held July 23–25 on the campus of Peace College in downtown Raleigh.

Zelda Lockhart

The Squire Summer Writing Residency is open only to the first fifty registrants, who can choose one of the following workshops: Fiction with Zelda Lockhart, Creative Nonfiction with Elaine Orr, or Poetry with David Rigsbee.

“The Squire Summer Writing Residency has become one of our most beloved programs,” NCWN executive director Ed Southern said. “It’s the most effective at forming close bonds between writers from across the state, which is what the Network is here to do.”

“I found an open, welcoming community of people who immediately accept anyone who has a desire to write,” said NCWN member Karen Landis Price, who attended the 2009 Squire Summer Writing Residency. “Everyone is received equally as a peer.”

Ivy Rutledge, another 2009 residency participant, said, “The entire group brought a sense of community to my writing that I hadn't had before.”

The NCWN’s Squire Summer Writing Residency offers an intensive course in a chosen genre, with eight hour-and-a-half sessions over the three days of the program. Registrants work in-depth on their own manuscript samples, as well as their colleagues’, while also studying the principles of the genre with their instructor.

Elaine OrrLockhart is author of the novels Fifth Born and Cold Running Creek, as well as the forthcoming Fifth Born II: The Hundredth Turtle. She is the 2010 Piedmont Laureate for the Triangle and surrounding areas.

Orr is an award-winning professor of literature and creative writing at North Carolina State University. She was born and grew up in southwestern Nigeria. Her memoir, Gods of Noonday: A White Girl’s African Life, was a BookSense selection and nominated for the Old State Award and the SEBA Book Award in creative nonfiction.

Rigsbee is the author of eighteen books and chapbooks. His latest books, The Red Tower: New & Selected Poems and The Pilot House, will be published in the fall of 2010. Winner of the 2010 Black River Poetry Prize, the Pound Prize, and the Vachel Lindsay Award, he has also been the recipient of fellowships and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Academy of American Poets. He is a 2010 winner of the Sam Ragan Award for contribution to the arts in North Carolina.

David  RigsbeeIn addition to the workshops, the 2010 Squire Summer Writing Residency will feature a panel discussion on publishing and bookselling, and readings by faculty and registrants. Attendees take meals together on campus, and are encouraged—but not required—to stay in Peace College campus housing that will be set aside for this conference.

The Squire Summer Writing Residency is named in honor of the late Chick and Elizabeth Daniels Squire, whose support made the residency possible. The North Carolina Arts Council, Peace College, and the Josephus Daniels Charitable Fund have also provided support for this year’s residency.

More information about the Squire Summer Writing Residency can be found at, or by calling 336-293-8844.

GREENSBORO, NC—Rebecca Warren, a retired teacher from Greensboro, has won the 2010 Randall Jarrell Poetry Competition, sponsored by the North Carolina Writers’ Network.

Acclaimed poet and publisher Rhett Iseman Trull chose Warren’s poem “Grass Bridge” from close to one hundred entries.

“‘Grass Bridge’ is a gently powerful poem. The voice is clear and melodic, the details vivid. The images speak to each other, creating layers of meaning that unfold throughout the poem,” Trull said. “This is a beautiful poem about diligence, connection, work, and love.”

Warren will receive a $200 prize from the North Carolina Writers’ Network, and her winning poem will be considered for publication in the literary journal the Crucible.

Warren, a native of Edenton, has lived in Greensboro since 1979. Her poems have appeared in Kenyon Review, Southern Poetry Review, International Poetry Review, and other magazines and anthologies. Her poem “Chalk” won the Guy Owen Prize for 2000. In 2009, her poem “In the Neighborhood of Fire” won North Carolina State University’s Brenda L. Smart Prize for Poetry, and her poem “Doorway” was awarded the Spoon River Poetry Review Editors’ Prize. Her chapbook, Prayers for Someone Else, was the 2002 winner of the Ruah/Power of Poetry award. She is a certified healing touch practitioner, and also a volunteer at Greensboro’s Women’s Hospital, where she works with babies in the hospital’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit.

Poets selected for honorable mention were Lynn Veach Sadler, Dannye Romine Powell, and Jeff Miles.

Rhett Iseman Trull's first book of poetry, The Real Warnings (Anhinga Press, 2009), received the 2008 Anhinga Prize for Poetry. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in the American Poetry Review, Best New Poets 2008, Prairie Schooner,the Southern Review, and other publications. Her awards include prizes from the Academy of American Poets and the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Foundation. She received her BA from Duke University and her MFA from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro where she was a Randall Jarrell Fellow. She and her husband publish Cave Wall in Greensboro.

The Randall Jarrell Poetry Competition honors the work and legacy of the poet and critic Randall Jarrell, who taught at what is now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro for nearly eighteen years. The competition is administered by Terry L. Kennedy and the graduate program in creative writing at UNCG, and is open to any writer who is a legal resident of North Carolina or a member of the North Carolina Writers’ Network. Visit for more information on this and other contests.

Joomla Template: by JoomlaShack