White Cross School Blog


NC Literary Hall of Fame





Hats Off! to Sandra Ervin Adams, who was again invited to post on the Contributor's Blog for Minerva Rising Literary Journal. Her article, "Visual Art and Poetry Blend Well," appears here.


Hats Off! to Kathryn Lovatt and Gregg Cusick. Kathryn, of Camden, SC, took First Prize in the 2013 Press 53 Open Awards "Short Story" category for her story, "Vermin." Durham's Gregg Cusick was named a Finalist for his story, "Gutted."


Hats Off! to Heather Bell Adams (Raleigh) and Jodi Barnes (Cary), who were named as Finalists in the 2013 Press 53 Open Awards "Short-Short Story" category.


Hats Off! to four NCWN members who did quite well in the 2013 Press 53 Open Awards "Poetry" category. Peg Bresnahan of Cedar Mountain claimed Second Prize, while Susan Schmidt (Beaufort), Crystal Simone Smith (Durham), and Lisa Zerkle (Charlotte) were named as Finalists.



Hats Off! to Karen Paul Holmes. The Lascaux Review invited her to submit and published her poem "Bessie Arrowood's Circle of Life."


Hats Off! to Glenda Beall and Susan Snowden. Glenda interviewed Susan, author of Southern Fried Lies and winner of an IPPY Award, for the Netwest blog.


Hats Off to Richard Allen Taylor and Richard G. Sharp, who won Second Place and an Honorable mention, respectively, in the 2013 Dean Ritch Lomax Poetry Prize sponsored by the Charlotte Writer's Club. The Final Judge was Richard Krawiec. Taylor claimed Second Place for his poem “Ways of Leaving,” while Sharp was awarded an Honorable Mention for his poem "Requiem for Luciana."



Hats Off! to Maren O. Mitchell, author of Beat Chronic Pain, An Insider’s Guide (Line of Sight Press, 2012), who was interviewed by Robin Watts of Regency Hospice in Hiawassee, Georgia, on three half-hour radio programs on WJUL-FM 97.5 and WJRB-FM 95.1 during the Silver Linings Show.


Hats Off! to Ray Morrison, who won First Place in the Winston-Salem Writers 2013 Anthology Contest (Flash Fiction) for his short story "Lost," and Second Place in the Fiction category for his short story "Preston Manor."


Hats Off! to Gwenyfar Rohler, whose profile of North Carolina playwright Anthony Lawson appears in the premier issue of Salt Magazine.


Hats Off! to Joan Leotta, whose poem "Voices in the Fog" won an Honorable Mention in the Voices of Angels competition in Thynks Magazine (British).


Hats Off! to Tamra Wilson, whose short story “The Bird Watcher” appears in the 2013 issue of Penumbra, a journal of California State University at Stanislaus. Another story, “Stringed Beef,” is in the inaugural issue of South Florida Arts Journal.


Hats Off! to Brenda Wilson, whose poem “Pond From My Deck” will be displayed in sixteen shop windows in Winston-Salem’s Arts and Entertainment District as part of Poetry in Plain Sight, sponsored by the Winston Salem Writers, Press 53, Barnhill’s Books, Competitive Edge, Downtown Arts District Association, Delta Arts Center, and Forsyth County Public Library.


Hats Off! to Heather Bell Adams of Raleigh, whose poem “The Tablecloth” earned an Honorable Mention in the 2013 Carolina Woman Writing Contest. Also, her short story “Gaston Street” was recently published in Deep South Magazine.


Hats Off! to Ellen Shepard, Assistant Professor of Film at Saint Augustine's University, who is a juror for the North Carolina Arts Council Playwrights/Screenwriters Fellowship.

... to Flora Ann Scearce.  Her story, "102 Sycamore Wynd," won second place in fiction in the recent 20th annual Carteret Writers' Competition.  The nationwide competition received 145 entries, including 63 from other states. 

... to Joan Cannon. Her poem, "Evensong at Ripon Cathedral," was featured in the online literary journal, The Lowestoft Chronicle. Her poems, "Bedside Manner" and "Afterwords," appear in the latest issue of Wild Goose Poetry Review.




Ellen L. Shepard will be featured nationally on Fox TV news, Saturday, June 19, 1:00-2:00 pm, in the segment “Beyond the Dream,” which will show Ellen with her film students at Saint Augustine's College in Raleigh.





Dick Michener will receive a humor writing award for his creative nonfiction piece "The Night the Bed Broke" at the Alabama Writers Conclave's banquet in Birmingham on July 17, 2010.

Katrina Parker Williams will have a poem "The Toll of His War" published in Pens on Fire in July 2010.

Asheville author and writing teacher Peggy Tabor Millin has won the 2010 Next Generation Indie Book Award in the spirituality category for her nonfiction book, Women, Writing, and Soul-Making: Creativity and the Sacred Feminine.  The Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group (IBPPG) announced the awards in New York City on May 21.

Laura T. Jensen of Pittsboro, NC won second prize in the Gulf Coast Writers Association "Let's Write Literary Contest" in the creative non-fiction category for her piece, "The Long Wait". The story can be viewed at:, click "See 2010 Winners".


Hats Off! to Edwin Bouldin, whose two short stories, "Fishing with Aida” and “Final Note,” were named Honorable Mentions in the 2012 Short Story Anthology contest sponsored by the Winston-Salem Writers.


Hats Off! to Anthony S. Abbott, co-recipient of the annual Brockman-Campbell Award for best book of poetry by a North Carolinian for his book If Words Could Save Us (Lorimer Press, 2011). The award is granted by the North Carolina Poetry Society.


Hats Off! to Scott Owens and Maureen Sherbondy, who were both finalists in the 2012 Next Generation Indie Book Awards. Owens was selected for his collection Something Knows the Moment (Main Street Rag), while Sherbondy was named for her collection Scar Girl (Finishing Line Press).


Hats Off! to Betty Reed. The American Association for State and Local History has selected her as a recipient for an Award of Merit based on her book School Segregation in Western North Carolina: A History, 1860s-1970s. The Award of Merit is to be presented at the AASLH annual meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah, on October 5.

........... to Suzanne Adair. <> ,
whose novel Camp Follower, third in a series set during the Southern theater
of the Revolutionary War, has been nominated for the 2009 Daphne du Maurier
Excellence in Historical Mystery/Suspense award.

... to Bob McCarthy. Last week, he learned that he was awarded 1st place in the 2011 Spring Shorts contest of the Virginia Writers Group in fiction.  His story was entitled "Smile a Mighty Jesus."

... to Katherine S. Crawford.  Her (unpublished) historical novel, Keowee, made it to the Quarter-Finalist round of the 2011 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Contest."

... to Ellyn Bache.  Her novel, The Art of Saying Goodbye, has been chosen as an "Okra Pick" by the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance.


Joomla Template: by JoomlaShack